Tourism Awards 2011

The first Tourism Awards was presented during the presidency of Alejandro L. Yap, Jr. in Rotary Year 2004-2005.

The objective of Tourism Awards is to recognize outstanding personalities in the Tourism Industry.

In preparation for Tourism Awards 2011, the organizational meeting was held last Friday, December 10, 2010 at The Wine Museum by Chairman Bobby Joseph, Director Elect Abe Pascual and Pres. Gert Gust (not in photo). Next meeting of the Tourism Awards 2010-2011 is being set for Thursday January 6. 2011 2:00 PM at the Manila Polo Club.

Individuals and institutions recognized for the last 6 awarding rites are as follows:

   I.      RY 2004-2005

1.Rtn. JJ Berenguer-Testa

2.PDG Vince Carlos

3.PD George Drysdale

4.PRIVP Paco Delgado

5.PP Francis Juico

6.Asst. Treas. Fred Lagman

7.Rtn. David Lim

8.Rtn. Art Lopez

9.Rtn. Richard Masselin

10.Rtn. Klaus Muller

11.PD Obet Pagdanganan

12.PP Art Panganiban

13.Rtn. Francisco Tankiang

14. Dr. Lucio C. Tan

15.Gov. Joseph Maranon – Negros Occidental

16.Hon. Robert S. Barbers – Phil. Tourism Authority

17.Atty. Anos Fonacier – Proprietor, Bohol Beach Club, Lahug

18.Ms. Jenny Franco – Cebu City

19.Mr. Eugenio Lopez III – Chairman & CEO, ABS-CBN Broadcasting Corporation


 II.            RY 2005-2006

1.Mr. Jaime Bautista, Philippine Airlines (Airline Category)

2.Ms. Patricia “Dawne” B. Roa, Central Visayas Department of Tourism (Government Category)

3. Hon. Edgar M. Chato,  Representative – 1st District Bohol Province (Government Category)

4. Mr. Hartwig Scholtz, BADIAN Islands Resort & Spa (Resort Category)

5.Ma. Lourdes Lilia Espinosa, ABS-CBN (Media/Print Category)

6.Millet M. Mananquil, Lifestyle Editor – Philippine STAR (Print / TV Media)

7. Rtn. Arthur Lopez, President & CEO – CC Philippines Corporation (Hotel Category)

8. Maripaz A. Gonzalez, President – Attic Tours Corporation (Travel Agency)


III.         RY 2006-2007

1.Mr. Antonio Lim, Pacific Discovery (Travel Agency Category)

2.Mr. Lance Gokongwei, JG Summit Holdings Inc. (Airline Category)

3.Hon. Joseph Durano, Department of Tourism (Government Category)

4.Mr. Efren Belarmino, Plantation Bay Resort & Spa (Hotel / Resort Category)

5.Dr. Emilio T. Yap, The Manila Bulletin (Media Category)

6.Mr. Cito Beltran, TV/Radio Host – ABS-CBN News Channel (Special Citation)

7. Mr. Murray Hertz, Publisher – What’s On @ Expat

8. Mr. Robert Dean Barbers, GM – Philippine Tourism Authority


 IV.        RY 2007-2008

1.Dr. James Dy, Pan Pacific Travel, Inc. (Travel Agency Category)

2.Dr. Lucio Tan, Philippine Air Lines (Airline Category)

3.Mr. Timothy N. Wright, Shangri-La Mactan (Hotel / Resort Category)

4.Ms. Chelo Banal-Formoso, Philippine Daily Inquirer (Media Category)

5.Rtn. Henry Sy, SM Group of Companies (Hotel/Resort /Malls Category)

6.Rtn. Bernd Schneider, Sofitel Philippine Plaza (Hotel Category)

7.Hon. Bayani Fernando, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (Culture Tourism)

8.Hon. Erico B. Aumentado, Governor of Bohol (Local Government Category)


V.        RY 2008-2009

1.Mr. Anton Huang (Shopping Tourism Category)

2.Ms. Susan Calo-Medina (Media/Television Category)

3.Ms. Grace Glory Go (Media / Print Category)

4.Mayor Jejomar C. Binay (LGU–Metro Manila Category)

5.Ms. Gina Lopez (Ecotourism / Livelihood Category)

6.USEC Eduardo Jarque, Department of Tourism (Government Category)

7.Mr. Ruben Tiu (Hotel / Resort Category)

8.Gov. Gwen Garcia (LGU-Visayas Category)

9.Mr. Efraim Genuino, Pagcor (Amusement Category)

10.Mr. Ruben Hukom (Airline Category)


VI.        RY 2009-2010

1.Mr. Farida Schoucair, New World Hotel (Hotel Category)

2.Ms. Angel Ramos-Bognot – AFRO-Asian Travel & Tours (Travel Agency Category)

3.Fr. Juan Ponce, OP – University of Sto. Tomas (Education Category)

4.Ms. Thelma Sioson San Juan, Philippine Daily Inquirer (Media in Print Category)

5.Mr. Daniel Carpentier, PDP Digital Inc. (Tourism / Publication Category)

6.Sec. Ace Durano, Department of Tourism (National Government Category)

7. Gov. Mario Joel T. Reyes, Province of Palawan (Local Government)

8. Mr. Jaime Zambrano, Kuwait Airlines (Airline Category)

9. Mr. Manuel V. Pangilinan, Phil. Long Distance Tel Co. (Transportation,Communication / Medical)


VII.        RY 2010-2011

1.Mr. & Mrs. Frederick Ong, Panglao Island Nature Resort & Spa (Resort)

2. Rtn. Ramon J. Quisumbing, Eagle Point Resort (Resort)

3. Ms. Vicky Wallace, Bohol Bee Farm (Resort)

4. Ms. Cela Rose “Clang” M. Garcia, Jeepney Tours (Travel & Tours)

5. Ms. Zara Dejaresco, Angel Wings Tours & Travel (Travel & Tours)

6. Capt. Jose Mari Roa, Air Safari (Airline)

7. H.E. Alfredo M. Yao, Zest Air (Airline)

8. Mr. Philippe Bartholomi, Century Park Hotel (Hotel)

9. Rtn. Goran Aleks, Sofitel Philippine Plaza Hotel (Hotel)

10. Hon. Jerry Pelayo, Mayor of Municipality of Candaba, Pampanga (Government)

11. Ms. Christine Dayrit, Philippine STAR (Media)

12. Dr. Joven Cuanang, St. Luke’s Medical Center (Medical Tourism)


 A total of 73 awards were given during the 7-year term of RCM Tourism Awards.




543 Arquiza cor. Grey Street, Ermita, Manila City
Tel. No. (632) 527-1886
Fax: (632) 527-1885
Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2023 All Rights Reserved by Rotary Club of Manila